In a nutshell, we are a membership organization that supports and promotes the teaching of computer science by providing opportunities for K–12 teachers and their students to better understand CS and to more successfully prepare themselves to teach and learn. The Ohio Chapter was formed in 2009 by computer science teachers who saw a need for collaboration and networking among Ohio's teachers of computer science.
We exist to support the teachers in Ohio who are teaching computer science whether they are new to the subject, incorporating it into other curricular areas, or veteran teachers of computer science. All teachers who are supporting student learning of computer science need resources, collaboration, professional development, information about state policies, etc. in order to do their work. We're here to help and connect you to what you need.

Our Board

2023-2024 President
John Dutton is an engineering and Computer Science teacher at MC^2 Stem High School in Cleveland Metropolitan Schools. He has been teaching in high-need schools for 17 years including two in Mozambique through the Peace Corps. John’s first career was in web design and software development, most recently at Hyland Software. He believes that CS education is critical for all learners because of the development of analytical and marketable skills for college, career and beyond. John hopes that through CSTA he can support CS teachers statewide in achieving all of their professional goals.
2023-2024 Vice-President

Shanti’ Coaston is a Computer Science educator at Westlake High School. Her previous school was Shaw High School in East Cleveland, where she taught for 11 years. She began her teaching career as an Intervention Specialist and the Alternative School Program. Working with exceptional students has assisted her in the transition of teaching Computer Science to all students. Before teaching, Ms. Coaston was a School-Based Therapist and a Youth Career Coach. Working with youth in these capacities, Shanti’ realized that she could do even more for youth as a teacher. 


She is the Co-Advisor of the Shaw High School Computer Science Honor Society, Girls Who Code Facilitator, ESports Co-Advisor, CSTA Ohio Member, and was on the 2017 Ohio Computer Science Curriculum Standards Writing Team. Her many awards include East Cleveland Teacher of the Year 2019, Ohio Lottery Teacher of the Month for March 2020, Certification Magazine wrote an article about her in June 2020, Cyber Hero of the Month (July 2020), and the Martha Holden Jennings Master Teacher Award 2021. She has also been a Co-Lead Mentor for new educators to the school district. Ms. Coaston recently ended her term as a member of the Computer Science Teachers Association Board of Directors as the 9-12 Representative.


Ms. Coaston has provided professional development training on technology integration and social-emotional learning at the local, district, and state level. As well as a culturally responsive teaching and recruitment of Students of Color in Computer Science on the national level. Shanti’ recently earned her Remote Pilot License (Commercial Drones) and now teaches exam prep to students and adults.

2023-2024 Treasurer
Brian Wetzel is the Computer Technology Teacher at Centerburg High School. He is in his 15th year of teaching with the past seven years in STEM-related courses. His teaching methods focus on hands-on learning, self-guided learning, and project-based, authentic assessment. He is an Ultimaker Education Pioneer and was named a SMART Exemplary Educator. During his time at Centerburg, he has expanded the Computer Science offerings, teaching AP Computer Science Principles, Introduction to Web Design, Engineering Design Principles, and Introduction to 3D Printing. He has also offered several courses related to video game design utilizing online curriculum offered by Zulama. 
2023-2024 Secretary

Carla Neely is an award-winning 5th-8th grade science and computer science teacher. She is an advocate for urban education and exposing African American girls to different aspects of science and computer science. Carla is also a Code.org facilitator for the Computer Science Discoveries program and a member of the inaugural 2021 micro:bit Champions Cohort. She trains and speaks at events geared toward helping teachers with best practices for motivating African American girls into the sciences. Carla feels that is important for girls to have the opportunity to use their own creativity and individuality in science and computer science. She is the 2022 Ohio Department of Education District 11 Teacher and one of the four finalists for Ohio’s 2022 Teacher of the Year. Carla is the interim secretary for CSTA-OH and a member of CSTA’s Editorial Board. Carla was a CSTA Equity Fellow and most recently was a member of the Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Program (2023-2023) in the office of Senator Jacky Rosen of Nevada. 

2023 - 2024 At-Large Board Member
Stephanie Hoeppner has been in CS education for 24 years and was a founding member of CSTA Ohio. She was also privileged to serve on the CSTA Board of Directors for 2 terms. Her passion is CS education and the support of CS teachers. She is looking forward to being more involved here in Ohio again and serving the Ohio CS teachers.
2023 - 2024 At-Large Board Member
Becky Odom-Bartel
Info coming soon!